2013 General Election

General elections were held in Zimbabwe on 31 July 2013. The incumbent President, Robert Mugabe, was re-elected, and ZANU-PF won a two-thirds majority in the House of Assembly (61.09%). Most of Zimbabwe’s 2010 districts had candidates from all three major parties: ZANU-PF, one of the two MDC formulations, and ZAPU. Minor party candidates and independents also ran in some districts. By 9 July, two separate opposition coalitions had been formed, one comprising MDC-T, Mavambo/Kusile/Dawn and ZANU-Ndonga, and the other coalition comprising MDC-N and ZAPU.
Robert Mugabe, ZANU-PF. Welshman Ncube, MDC-N. Morgan Tsvangirai, MDC-T. Dumiso Dabengwa, ZAPU. Kisinoti Mukwazhe, ZDP (Candidacy later withdrawn).
In 2011, allegations indicated that a third of registered voters were dead or aged 120 (Zimbabwe’s life expectancy is 44). These accusations were repeated in 2013, with the additional claim that a considerable number of young voters had not been registered. The Zimbabwe Election Support Network (ZESN), a local observer group with 7,000 monitors, listed a litany of offences, including state media bias, a campaign of intimidation in rural areas, and the rushed electoral process before key reforms to the security services were in place. The most significant allegation was of electoral roll tampering. Released the day before the election, the roll revealed an estimated 1 million invalid names and many deceased voters. It excluded up to 1 million people, mostly in urban areas where MDC support was strong. The Electoral Commission later reported that approximately 305,000 voters were turned away from polls and 207,000 voters were “assisted” on casting their ballots. There were also more than 100,000 centenarian ghost voters on the electoral roll. On 9 August, the MDC sought to have the results declared null and void. A week later they withdrew their petition. Despite their withdrawal, the Supreme Court of Zimbabwe ruled that the election was “free, fair and credible”.
Robert Mugabe won 61% of the vote to claim a seventh term as president. Morgan Tsvangirai finished second with 34% of the vote. Mugabe’s Zanu-PF party dominated the parliamentary election, winning 160 seats. Tsvangirai’s MDC-T party won 49 seats.
Mugabe was sworn in as President on 22 August 2013 at a ceremony in Harare. Speaking at the ceremony, he promised economic growth, focusing on mining: “The mining sector will be the centrepiece of our economic recovery and growth. It should generate growth spurts across the sector, reignite that economic miracle which must now happen.” ZANU-PF’s candidates were elected for the posts of Speaker of the National Assembly and President of the Senate. The MDC-T did not run any candidates.

On 10 September 2013, Mugabe appointed his new cabinet: Patrick Chinamasa as Minister of Finance, Emmerson Mnangagwa as Minister of Justice, Sydney Sekeramayi as Minister of Defense, and Jonathan Moyo as Minister of Information. Mugabe opened Parliament on 17 September 2013, vowing that “the indigenisation programme is to be pursued with renewed vigour”.

2018 General Election

The next Zimbabwe general election will be held in 2018.

Incumbent President Robert Mugabe has already declared his intention to run as the Zanu-PF candidate.