Or which is only changed once a year on my anniversary day? payrise within the next few days, but will probably leave within the next few months – my question is Always approach your employer with questions like this. the employee’s ordinary weekly pay at the beginning of the annual holiday, or There is no such thing as a 13th pay in New Zealand, do you come from Switzerland? I’m not here to advertise our payroll (I develop payroll for a living), merely pointing out the futility of continuing to express annual leave values in terms of hours and days – they mean nothing under the Act and the constant recalculation of averages etc is so complex (and generally incorrect) that it’s no wonder everyone is confused. Most companies allow it but they are not obliged to. Will he still have 80 hours to use as leave which would be 20 days on his new roster, or will it be changeed to 40 hours as 10 shorter days? AL accrued: 88.75 hours I have been at my job for 2 years and taken a total of 113.5 hrs annual leave since starting. The problem in your case is exaggerated by the fact your accruals are in Hours (something we feel strongly against for this very example), whereas if leave was accruing in Days or Weeks you would not have seen any change. Total Balance Hmmm, not sure that is the right answer but the current thinking from MBIE is that when determining your 4 weeks leave, it must be done at the point you take leave so the fact you reduced from 3 Rostered Days per week to 1 would mean your current leave entitlement is 4 weeks of 1 day. My payslip currently reads – annual leave accrued this year: 12.5days. Just need clarification of AL entitlements, Started work Jan 2014 – used 22days during that first year, So i start jan 2015 with – 2 AL owing – i accrue 20 during that year but use another 22. Hi, I keep asking the same question, but keep on getting the same answer each year from my employer. Thanks. But figures above show otherwise, do I have a misunderstanding on my behal