The ledge was secured on with wood glue and I also shot some nails from the top down into the casing. We used cheap plywood to get the look of real shiplap. It turned out great. I actually started kind of at the end by building the … Here are some pictures of the finished wall. amzn_assoc_region = "US"; A shiplap look on a budget! Do you love Shiplap Walls? It gives your bathroom wall some character on a budget, and keeps usable towels hanging nicely. It can be. Follow these easy instructions and transform your own space for UNDER $40 with this DIY Shiplap Wall! So calming and yet such a simple solution. Awesome tutorial- you could not have explained it better had you been doing the project with me in my own home . Is the luan thin enough that I can run it right down to the top of the baseboards, without an overhang? We cut the plywood into 8 inch wide pieces. We’ll help you make your house a welcoming home every day, all year long. I teach college kids for a living and I am very passionate about budget-friendly DIY. Please see our full disclosure here. So Doug measured and marked all of the studs- our studs are approximately 18 inches apart. I used a utility knife to cut out the light switch. If you would like to see the entire bathroom, come see what I did for $100! Thanks for your help. Then I added vaseline in random places. It is tongue & groove and a much thicker wood. Do you think this can be done in a bathroom? I did something similar on my entry way plank wall. Nice to virtually meet you! amzn_assoc_linkid = "c5a5e2986e2793ead4918cd4b2b8e9bb"; Your idea of using industrial velcro might work, depending on how large the wall is that you would do this on. Measure and Cut Inside Boards . And of course, we are also building the She Shed which will have Farmhouse Decor as well. It looks like it was supposed to be there. EASY DIY … Thank you for joining me! My bathroom wall is just over 5 feet wide so I had four studs to mark. After the studs where all marked, I s