Twitter | Instagram | Website. On the second day of the symposium, Katharine Hayhoe, Ph.D., professor and director of the Climate Science Center at Texas Tech University, who also is a United Nations Champion of the Earth recipient, served as the keynote speaker. Not by rehashing the same data and facts we've been discussing for years, says climate scientist Katharine Hayhoe. I’m an atmospheric scientist. Katharine Hayhoe: It’s not very acceptable for a leader to say, “Yes, climate change is real, but I don’t want to do anything about it because it’s against my economic ideology to look beyond the short term.”So instead, many of them are putting up smokescreens, offering politically correct and much more acceptable reasons why climate change isn’t real or, if it is, isn’t urgent. Katharine Hayhoe is an accomplished atmospheric scientist who studies climate change and why it matters to us here and now. This is one of the most frequent questions I get here on Facebook. Katharine Hayhoe is an Endowed Professor in Public Policy and Public Law in the Public Administration program of the Department of Political Science at Texas Tech University and co-directs the Climate Center at Texas Tech. Katharine Hayhoe. Katharine Hayhoe. Instagram. A thermometer doesn’t give you a different answer depending on how you vote. Katharine Hayhoe. By James Felton 06 Sep 2017, 13:25. She is also a remarkable communicator. Like Katharine's page for a clear-eyed and hopeful look at climate science--and solutions. Is there such a strong consensus in the scientific community on climate change simply because anyone proposing alternate explanations is black-balled and suppressed? Her 2018 TedTalk has had over 3.5 million views. Save 84% off the newsstand price! Katharine Hayhoe. Gefällt 36.679 Mal. The climate scientist was awarded the United Nations’ environmental honor in science and innovation. Created with Sketch. Katharine Hayhoe is one of the world’s most renowned climate scientists– she h