I have a friend who makes these for Christmas and New Years for her family the traditional way and have asked her if I could watch her make them. Now those I need to try! I would love to be a fly on the wall if you were to serve these to you guests. Hi Everyone! And I’ve certainly never tried to make them. Even when they are easy like this, tamales are still something you have to plan for so it’s understandable that you’ve never made them. : ). Easy, healthy recipes with a southwestern flare. These Red Chile Chicken Tamales freeze very nicely. Fold the sides of the the husk around the mixture. . Sad to say I have never made tamales MY, but I will be in Mexico soon so I hope to at least have the opportunity to try them. I’m a well-seasoned cook with a love for New Mexico, its cuisine, its unique ingredients, and its physical beauty. Thanks Asmita! Thanks! Happy New Year my friend!!! Mmm, love tamales. Both times I’ve made them I’ve had trouble deciding when the tamale is “peeling away from the husk.” We steamed for an hour, rested ten minutes, tested, steamed another 15 minutes, tested. A flat casserole dish large enough to hold 2 dozen corn husks and hot water. I love that you share an alternative for lard. "*" See Kitchen Notes for more information or links to special ingredients. Gosh! I know what you mean Terra! I hope you give them a try. You are most welcome Tessa and thank you! Oh yes – everything is better homemade. Tamales are typically made in large batches for celebrations, holidays and special occasions in Mexican culture. And home-made is irresistible. Thanks Carolyn! I think I like making tamales like you enjoy making cakes. Your masa mixture should be the texture of a quick bread batter. MJ, these look magnificent! Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! Tamales is one of the dishes I have discovered thanks to your blog and which are typical of your cuisine: delicious, extremely exotic (at least for me) and of course spicy! Have fun in Mexico!! When fr