Join NTU LIVE at 5pm Thursday - ask your questions now! But when the alcohol is mixed with other substance to the effect that it has become irrelevant (up to 0.5%) then it has become another substance that falls under the rules of either istihlak or istihalah (transformation). According to those scholars, if wine is transformed into vinegar by putting, bread, onion, yeast or something else in it, that wine does not become clean. Answer: Vinegar is halal and there is nothing wrong with it. In other kinds of vinegar, you do not know whether any alcohol is left in it or not. As a matter of fact, the Messenger of Allah (pbuh) states the following: "Vinegar is such a nice condiment." ), grains (barley, rice, wheat, etc. Manchester (Feb 2009), International Naat Conf. Based on that, the vinegar that comes from the Jews and Christians is halaal and pure, because they did that on the basis of their belief that it is permissible, hence they are not to be prevented from drinking wine. I live in XXX and I am aware of what happens in ketchup and mayonnaise factories, and how vinegar is made here. As for the vinegar that originates from wine through human interference, it’s somehow controversial among scholars, as you can see. Nose pierced for a week. There are different views about the decree on transforming wine into vinegarby the intervention of man and whether this vinegar is permissible to use or not: According to Hanafi madhhab, it is permissible to produce vinegar from wine and to consume it. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE. Is Spirit Vinegar Ḥalāl? What to do? By using this site, you agree to our Cookie Policy. The animal (or bird) that dies because of falling down from a height, 8. There is a difference of scholarly opinion concerning that; the soundest of the views are two views: Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthameen (may Allah have mercy on him) said: In the phrase “if it turns into vinegar [as the result of a deliberate process],” the pronoun refers to the wine, and what is meant is that something is deliberately added to it that will remove its intoxicating effects, such as nabeedh and so on, or it is subjected to a process that takes away its intoxicating effect. He called for it and he started eating it, saying: “What a good condiment vinegar is, what a good condiment vinegar is.”. I have researched on google but some say it is and others say no. Manchester (March 2008), International Naat Conf. Is it possible in Islam to abandon fards for harams or to commit a haram deed for something fard? ), honey, and even synthetic products such as natural gas and petroleum derivatives. So, spirit vinegar is halal. If yes, when? Still very confusing for me, so is the majority vinegar type haraam as the process converts to alcholol even though the end product is alchohol free? anything that has chemically transformed. Here in our country, they prefer to make it with the best taste. The list of doubtful food and drinks for the Muslims living in non-Muslim countries is longer. For example, a Muslim is not allowed to take little drops of wine and drinks them under the pretext that he won’t get drunk. With regard to treating wine so that it becomes vinegar, by adding vinegar, onions or salt into it, or putting it on the fire for the purpose of turning it into vinegar, such treatments are haraam according to the more correct scholarly view.